Elon Musk says Grok Bot will stop relying solely on SpaceX’s own AI and instead route each task to the best backend available — naming Anthropic’s Claude Opus 5.5, Midjourney, and Suno by name. Why it matters: the lab behind Grok just admitted a competitor’s model does some jobs better.
What happened
On October 7, Elon Musk posted on X that SpaceX will use "the best back end model for any given task" for Grok Bot, "including Claude Opus 5.5, MidJourney, Suno and other leading APIs." His closing line: "Whatever is most likely to give you the best outcome."
Grok Bot is SpaceX’s always-on AI agent, introduced in beta on August 11. It runs on its own cloud computer, can use a browser and connected apps, and keeps working after the user walks away. Access comes through a SuperGrok subscription or a paid Cursor plan, and Tesla has added it to its cars.
What this changes
Until now, Grok Bot has been sold as a showcase for Grok. Under Musk’s plan, a Bot asked to write code or a long report could hand the work to Claude Opus 5.5, one asked for an image could use Midjourney, and one asked for music could use Suno — all behind the same Grok Bot window. Musk said "other leading APIs" would be included too but didn’t name them.
This turns Grok Bot into a smart routing layer rather than a walled-garden demo. It’s a notable concession in the agent race, where Grok Bot competes with OpenAI’s Dots agent and Meta’s Muse.
Why it matters
For subscribers, the honest takeaway: model quality is becoming a commodity that even the labs treat as interchangeable. Musk’s announcement implicitly ranks Claude Opus 5.5 above Grok 4.7 for complex reasoning and coding — the kind of admission labs almost never make in public. The trade-off is transparency. Musk’s post is a statement of intent, not a finished product: he gave no details on how tasks map to providers, whether users can see or choose which backend handled their task, what data gets sent to each provider, how it affects pricing, or whether users can opt out. Given that Bots can access your connected apps and credentials, those unanswered questions matter more than the headline.
FAQ
Which models will Grok Bot use?
Musk named Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic), Midjourney (images), and Suno (music), plus unnamed "other leading APIs." The mapping of task to model was not specified.
When does this take effect?
No rollout date was given. The announcement is a statement of direction, not a documented, generally available feature.
Can users choose or see which backend handles a task?
Not stated. Musk gave no details on user controls, data handling, or opt-out options.
What is Grok Bot?
SpaceX’s persistent AI agent, launched in beta August 11. It works on its own cloud computer, uses a browser and your connected apps, and continues working in the background.
Sources: RuntimeWire; AndroidHeadlines; MadRobot (all citing Musk’s X post)

